Poet- Bastille

I can’t say the words out loud/ So in a rhyme I wrote you down/ Now you’ll live through the ages/ I can feel your pulse on the pages/ I have written you down/Now you will live forever…

20161010_090401

 

Poet by Bastille is beautiful. Listen here: youtube.com.

Based on Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18 (according to genius.com), Poet describes someone immortalizing their lover in a poem. This is why I write. I can make someone live forever, just by writing them down!

My Favorite Lines of Poet

Obsession, it takes control/Obsession, it eats me whole… I think every artist knows this feeling. It reminds me of this quote from Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis: “I was with book, as a woman is with child.” Your story is within you, unable to ignore, all-consuming.

I can’t say the words out loud/So in a rhyme I wrote you down… Almost every writer feels better at writing than speaking. When something is of utmost importance to you and needs to be expressed, it finds its way into your stories.

I can feel your pulse on the pages… I love this line. This is how real a character can be, that you feel their life in your hands as you read.

You will live forever/In eyes not yet created/In tongues that are not born/I have written you down/Now you will live forever… Imagine your writing being read by people who haven’t been born yet. Think of Hamilton singing, “I wanna build something that’s gonna outlive me.” Everyone has at least a little of that ‘want’ in them, and with enough determination, writers have a way to make that happen.

This whole song reminds me of why I’m a writer. My writing can live on long after I’m gone, and I can make friends, family, or anyone I’d like exist forever.

What songs inspire you?

Leave a Reply

